Lake Manyara National Park

0
CREATION DATE
0
KMÂČ OF PARK
0
KMÂČ OF LAKE

Lake Manyara National Park was established in 1960 and covers an area of 330 km2 including 230 km2 for the lake itself. It is located 130 km west of Arusha.

The word "Manyara" comes from a Maasai term which applies to a thorny plant used as a barrier to protect livestock against wild animals.

Lake Manyara National Park is a long corridor between the eastern shore of the lake and the 600m high rocky escarpment that marks the entrance to the Rift Valley. It is an exceptional site because it perfectly illustrates the phenomenal rupture of the immense Rift fault. The lake is supplied with water by springs emanating from the fault.

 

To the northwest, at the entrance to the park, is a strip of tropical forest. Very large trees take advantage of the volcanic soil and porous rocks that allow the emergence of many clear springs. The forest is home to colonies of baboons, green monkeys and vervets. Along the lake, the track crosses a savannah dotted with trees. It is the realm of impalas, giraffes, buffaloes and zebras.

 

The park is renowned for its concentrations of elephants which appreciate the rocky escarpments. It has become famous for its lions which roost in trees although they are rare to see. There is also the "Hippo-pool", a basin where you can observe hippos like rocks resting on the water. All around are a very large number of birds, 380 species have been identified: flamingos, herons, egrets, fish eagles, ibises, pelicans, jacanas ......

Our safaris to discover Lake Manyara National Park

en_USEnglish

Parc National du Lac Manyara

0
DATE DE CREATION
0
KM² DE PARC
0
KM² DE LAC

Le Parc National du Lac Manyara a été établi en 1960 et couvre une surface de 330 km2 dont 230 km2 pour le lac proprement dit. Il est situé à 130 km à l’Ouest d’Arusha.

Le mot « Manyara » vient d’un terme Maasaï qui s’applique à une plante épineuse utilisée pour constituer une barrière de protection du bétail contre les fauves.

Le Parc National du Lac Manyara est un long couloir entre la rive Est du lac et l’escarpement rocheux de 600 m de haut qui marque l’entrée dans la Rift Valley. C’est un site exceptionnel parce qu’il illustre parfaitement la cassure phénoménale de l’immense faille du Rift. Le lac est alimenté en eau par des sources émanant de la faille.

 

Au Nord-Ouest, à l’entrée du parc, se trouve une bande de forêt tropicale. De très grands arbres profitent du sol volcanique et des roches poreuses qui permettent l’émergence de nombreuses sources claires. La forêt abrite des colonies de babouins, de singes verts et de vervets. Le long du lac, la piste traverse une savane ponctuée d’arbres. C’est le royaume des impalas, des girafes, des buffles et des zèbres.

 

Le parc est renommé pour ses concentrations d’éléphants qui apprécient les escarpements rocheux. Il est devenu célèbre pour ses lions qui se perchent dans les arbres même s’il est toutefois rare d’en voir. Il y a également « l’Hippo-pool », bassin où l’on observe des hippopotames tels des rochers posés sur l’eau. Tout autour évoluent une quantité très importantes d’oiseaux, 380 espèces ont été recensées : flamants roses, hérons, aigrettes, aigles pêcheurs, ibis, pélicans, jacanas……

Nos safaris pour découvrir le Parc National du Lac Manyara