Drapeau de la Tanzanie

Tanzania

History and economy

L'histoire de la Tanzanie : exportation café

In many ways, the history of Tanzania is the history of mankind. Fossils found in Olduvai Gorge, one of the world's earliest archaeological sites, suggest that Tanzania has been colonized by hominids for over 2 million years. The Iron Age migrations from West Africa were followed by European and Arab merchants, missionaries and slavers, and by the mid-1800s Zanzibar had become the center of the African slave trade. from the east. Colonized first by the Germans and then by the British, Tanganyika gained independence in 1961. Unification with Zanzibar in 1964 gave Tanzania its name.

Rich in mineral resources and natural gas, Tanzania's economy is nonetheless dominated by agriculture, which employs 75% of the workforce and accounts for half of the country's GDP. Tanzania's main exports are gold, coffee, tea and cotton. But it is tourism, which is growing in importance every year, that is the country’s biggest contributor of foreign currency.

Some of Tanzania's 120 ethnic groups make up its population with a significant number of Asians, Arabs and Europeans as well. Even with this mix of identities, Tanzania has long promoted a harmonious national culture, based on a subtle social code but strong of courtesy and respect. English and Swahili are the official languages.

People and culture

Landscape and wildlife

Located between the two arms of the Great Rift Valley, the immense central plateau of Tanzania is bounded on the west by the great African lakes, on the north by mountains (including Kilimanjaro, the highest peak in Africa) and the Indian Ocean to the east. Most of the country is covered with grasslands, open forests and savannahs, but significant pockets of rainforest exist in remote mountain ranges.

Home to 20% of Africa's large mammals, Tanzania is one of the main safari destinations on the continent. More than 25% of the country is devoted to conservation and several Tanzanian animal reserves are among the most important in the world. Most visitors head to northern Tanzania, where the most famous animal reserves are located.

en_USEnglish

Drapeau de la Tanzanie

La tanzanie

Histoire et économie

L'histoire de la Tanzanie : exportation café

A bien des égards, l’histoire de la Tanzanie est l’histoire de l’Humanité. Les fossiles trouvés dans les gorges d’Olduvai, l’un des premiers sites archéologiques du monde, suggèrent que la Tanzanie a été colonisée par des hominidés depuis plus de 2 millions d’années. Les migrations de l’âge du fer en provenance d’Afrique de l’Ouest ont été suivies par les marchands, missionnaires et esclavagistes européens et arabes, et au milieu des années 1800, Zanzibar était devenue le centre de la traite négrière d’Afrique de l’Est. Colonisée d’abord par les Allemands puis par les Britanniques, Tanganyika a obtenu son indépendance en 1961. L’unification avec Zanzibar en 1964 a donné son nom à la Tanzanie.

Riche en ressources minérales et en gaz naturel, l’économie tanzanienne est néanmoins dominée par l’agriculture, qui emploie 75% de la main-d’œuvre et représente la moitié du PIB du pays. Les principales exportations de la Tanzanie sont l’or, le café, le thé et le coton. Mais c’est le tourisme, qui gagne en importance chaque année, qui est le plus gros apporteur de devises du pays.

Certains des 120 groupes ethniques de la Tanzanie constituent sa population avec un nombre important d’asiatiques, d’arabes et d’européens également. Même avec ce mélange d’identités, la Tanzanie a longtemps promu une culture nationale harmonieuse, basée sur un code social subtil mais fort de courtoisie et de respect. L’anglais et le swahili sont les langues officielles.

Les gens et la culture

Paysage et faune​

Situé entre les deux bras de la Great Rift Valley, l’immense plateau central de la Tanzanie est délimité à l’ouest par les grands lacs africains, au nord par les montagnes (y compris le Kilimandjaro, le plus haut sommet d’Afrique) et l’océan Indien à l’est. La majeure partie du pays est couverte de prairies, de forêts ouvertes et de savanes, mais d’importantes poches de forêt tropicale existent dans les chaînes de montagnes reculées.

Abritant 20% des grands mammifères d’Afrique, la Tanzanie est l’une des principales destinations de safaris sur le continent. Plus de 25% du pays est consacré à la conservation et plusieurs réserves animales tanzaniennes figurent parmi les plus importantes du monde. La plupart des visiteurs se dirigent vers le nord de la Tanzanie, où se trouvent les réserves animales les plus célèbres.